Saint Dominic’s Parish and Our Lady of the Rosary Shrine, Haverstock Hill (London)
About Saint Dominic’s Parish:
The parish has always been served by the Dominican Friars (the Order of Preachers) who first came to serve the area in 1861 and are still here today. The church dates from 1883, and is one of the largest Catholic churches in London, with a design based on the structure of the Rosary Prayer.
Within the Church, there are fourteen side-chapels, each dedicated to a mystery of the Rosary with the final fifteenth mystery, the crowning of Our Lady as Queen of Heaven, commemorated in the stained glass window above the high altar.
In a more spacious side-chapel there is a life-size replica of the grotto at Lourdes.
The community of Friars lives in St Dominic’s Priory, the building adjoining the church. It is also the residence of the Prior Provincial of the Dominican Friars in England and Scotland.
In 2016 Cardinal Vincent Nichols made the church into a diocesan shrine church, with a mission of promoting the Rosary. Their mission is to become a place of pilgrimage, prayer and thanksgiving to Our Lady of the Rosary. They have an annual schedule of activities including torchlight Rosary Processions; Adoration of the Blessed Sacrament; Youth Prayer Vigils; sacred music performances; talks and catechesis.
They welcome pilgrims to their church and to pray the Way of the Rosary at the 15 altars dedicated to the mysteries of the Rosary.
Photos courtesy Fr. Lawrence Lew, O.P. For more photos of the Shrine, click here
Visiting St. Dominic’s Priory & the Rosary Shrine:
You are invited to stop in to pray or attend Mass…they have several Masses daily during the week as well as on Sundays. There is also Rosary, Benediction and Confessions. See their website for details.
Address: Southampton Rd, Belsize Park, London NW5 4LB
Tel: +44 020 7482 9234
email: use the contact form on their website
Click here for the official website of St Dominic’s Priory & the Rosary Shrine