Perryville, Missouri: National Shrine of the Miraculous Medal
History of the National Shrine of the Miraculous Medal:
Saint Mary’s of the Barrens was founded in 1818 by those of the Vincentian order. On January 6, 1827, the foundation stone for the present church was laid, and contributions from Europe helped local efforts to complete and consecrate the structure in October 1837.
Later, in 1929, the Shrine was built in 1929 to honor our Lady of the Miraculous Medal and has served as the National Shrine of Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal in the United States.
About the National Shrine of the Miraculous Medal in Perrysville:
Its architecture and decorations reflect its long and interesting history. Over the main altar of the church is a large painting of the Assumption of our Lady, indicating the original dedication of the edifice.
There are many other paintings in the church depicting the history of the Vincentian community and various devotions. Take a virtual tour of the Shrine.
The Venerable Felix de Andreis, first superior of the Vincentians in the New World, is buried beneath its floor.
Near the tomb of Felix de Andreis is the chapel housing the Shrine of Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal. Here a novena of Masses is offered each month for members of the Association. Here, too, petitions from all over the country are placed near our Lady’s Altar. Adjacent to the Shrine is the Votive Light Sanctuary.
Among the other points of interest are many historic and devotional things to see and do at St. Mary’s of the Barrens, such as the grotto, the mound, and “Bishop Rosati’s Log Cabin.”
The Grotto of our Lady of the Miraculous Medal was built by the seminarians during World War I. It has become a special center of devotion to our Blessed Mother since then. Construction began in 1917 and was completed in November 1920. The first stone was put into place on June 25, 1917. A small chapel recessed in the center of the grotto wall has a small altar made of fieldstone. In a small niche at the top of the grotto wall, directly above the small chapel, is a statue of our Lady of the Miraculous Medal. The statue of our Lady arrived August 5, 1920. The grotto stands at the site of the old quarry, behind the Mound of our Lady of Victory (originally known as “The Mound of Our Lady of the Fields”). Rock used to build historic SaintMary’s of the Barrens Church came from this site.
When the last stone was in place and the landscaping all finished, Archbishop Glennon dedicated the grotto on November 11, 1920. Priests, brothers, and seminarians of Saint Mary’s, helped by local laborers, worked three years to complete the grotto project. The entire construction is documented in an old seminary journal. The journal mentions that documents were buried in the grotto with the names of the workers and those at Saint Mary’s Semina
Located about 60 miles south of Saint Louis.
Address: Association of the Miraculous Medal, 1811 West Saint Joseph Street, Perryville, Missouri, 63775
Tel: 1-800-264-MARY (6279)
Click here for the official website of The Shrine of the Miraculous Medal