Home » Destinations » Holy Land » Jerusalem, Israel: The Holy City


Jerusalem, Israel: The Holy City


One of the world’s oldest cities, Jerusalem finds itself in the role of a holy city for three of the world’s most prominent religions: Judaism, Christianity and Islam. Certainly it has a troubled history, having been conquered and re-conquered many times. Jerusalem was totally destroyed by the Romans in 70 AD and re-built over the years following.

Jerusalem itself is divided into 4 quarters: Christian, Muslim, Jewish, and Armenian. However; despite what the names might imply, there are Catholic Christian places of interest in each of these quarters.

The Christian quarter in the Northeast is home to the Church of the Holy Sepulchre;

The Muslim quarter is home to the Pool of Bethesda, the Crusader Church of Saint Anne; the Convent of the Sisters of Zion and is part of the via Dolorosa (Way of The Cross);

The Jewish Quarter contains the Western Wall and the Church of Saint Mark;

The Armenian Quarter which is home to the Cathedral of Saint James.


Here are some major Catholic sites in Jerusalem:

The Church of the Holy Sepulchre

The Convent of the Sisters of Zion (coming soon)

The Crusader Church of Saint Anne

The Pool of Bethesda (coming soon)

The Pool of Siloam (where Jesus healed the man who had been blind since birth)

The Western Wall (sometimes called the Wailing Wall)

Via Dolorosa: The Way of the Cross

Find Restaurants & Hotels in Jerusalem, compare prices, and read what other travelers have to say at TripAdvisor

⇐ Back to Catholic shrines & places of interest in the Holy Land

Leave a Comment