Beer has a long tradition in Bamberg. It was first mentioned in a document in 1039, when the Bamberg canon Ouldaricus decreed that there should be free beer for the people of Bamberg on the day of his death. The Benedictine monastery on the Michaelsberg has been brewing since 1122. Even then, the sovereigns were concerned about the good quality of the beer. In 1489, Prince-Bishop Heinrich III issued the Bamberg Purity Law, stipulating that “nothing more than hops, malt and water should be used when boiling.
The Kaiserdom Specialty Brewery Bamberg has existed since 1718 and is the largest of the twelve breweries in Bamberg. It has been owned by the Wörner family for over 100 years.
Bamberg succeeded in becoming a beer town in the 18th century. Especially in the Schönborn period, under the Prince Bishop Lothar Franz (1693-1729) and Friedrich Karl (1729-1746) von Schönborn, trade and handicrafts were strongly promoted; something like an economic miracle broke out.
In the 17th and 18th centuries, many industries were created and the brewery was founded in 1718. At that time there were already three inns in the village of Gaustadt. One of them belonged to the Benedictine monastery of St. Michaelsberg in Bamberg – for which the then innkeeper Georg Morg received permission to set up a brewery.