Paris (Neilly-sur-Seine): Our Lady of Good Deliverance
About Our Lady of Good Deliverance:
Neuilly sur Seine borders the city of Paris. Although the statue of Our Lady of Good Deliverance (also known as the Black Madonna of Paris) here dates from the 14th Century, it is actually a replica of one from several centuries earlier. Originally housed in the Church of Saint-Étienne-des-Grès, it was a focus of prayers by many notable pilgrims, including Saint Vincent de Paul and Saint Francis de Sales.
When the Church was destroyed during the revolution and all its belongings sold off, a pious woman named Madame de Carignan obtained the statue for safekeeping. She herself was arrested during the Reign of Terror, but was able to keep the statue with her during her imprisonment.
She was released from prison in 1806 and gave the statue to the Church. The statue is still located in the chapel of the Congregation of the Sisters of St. Thomas of Villeneuve in Neuilly-sur-Seine.
About the Chapel in Our Lady of Good Deliverance:
The chapel is open daily from 9:00 a.m. There are daily Masses at 7:00 a.m. and 11:00 p.m., Sundays at 10:00 a.m. and 11:00 p.m.
How to find the chapel of the Congregation of the Sisters of St. Thomas of Villeneuve in Neuilly-sur-Seine:
Address: 52 Boulevard d’Arenson
GPS coordinates: 48° 53′ 23.1504” N, 2° 15′ 46.1952” E
Tel: +33-01 47 47 42 20 Fax +33-01 47 47 38 00
Click here for the official website of the Congregation of the Sisters of St. Thomas of Vileeneuve (in French)