About Museo Miguel de Santiago de San Augustin:
Founded in 1573 and built by the Augustine Order, this convent gives a glimpse in to what life was like for the priests at that time. It is noted for having 44 very large paintings on wood depicting the life of Saint Augustine surrounding 3 sides of a courtyard. Due to the fact that they are exposed to the elements, they need to be restored from time to time. Specialists from Italy are brought in for this task.
The main altarpiece was brought from Rome and is Baroque gold-leaf. It consists of 3 sculptures that are attributed to José Olmos “Pampite”. These sculptures are: Saint John the Evangelist, The Blessed Virgin Mary and Christ.
Finding Museo Miguel de Santiago de San Augustin in Quito:
The convent & museum is located in the center of the historic district at the corner of Calle Chile and Calle Guayaquil.
Address: Chile 924 y Guayaquil, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Tel: +593 2-295-5525