About the Carmelite Monastery in Santa Clara, California:
Located on the former Bond ranch. Judge Hiram Graham Bond owned the ranch from 1895 to 1909. The ranch was purchased by U.S. Senator James d. Phelan in 1913.
The monastery chapel and residence buildings were constructed in 1917 as a permanent monastery for the community of Cloistered Discalced Carmelite nuns; in memory of Mrs. Francis J. Sullivan, Phelan’s sister. Monastery buildings were designed by Maginnis & Walsh, who designed the national Shrine of the Immaculate Conception, Washington, D.C.
Plans for the chapel won first place at the 1925 Paris International Exposition. Author Jack London, a frequent visitor to the ranch, used the ranch as the starting locale for his famous novel “Call of the Wild” and Marshall Bond’s dog for the hero of the book.
Although the nuns are cloistered, the public is invited to attend Mass. You will be blessed by the beautiful voices of the nuns singing behind the grille.
Traveling to the Carmelite Monastery in Santa Clara, California:
Address: 1000 Lincoln Street, Santa Clara, CA 95050
Tel: +1 (408) 296-8412
Location: 37° 20.87′ N, 121° 57.128′ W.
There is no website for the Monastery.