Huntington, Indiana: Saint Felix Catholic Center
The history of the Saint Felix Friary:
St. Felix Friary was built in 1928, and was named after St. Felix of Cantalice, Italy, a Capuchin priest who lived from 1515 to 1587, known for his love of nature and youth, and prayers for healing of the sick. The friary had many priests in formation over the years as well as famous residents, including Fr. Benedict Groeschel, CFR. as well as Fr. Solanus Casey. Venerable Solanus Casey came here from Detroit to escape the throngs of people who asked for his intercession. But they followed him here, and he was often seen praying with them and over them. Many miracles were reported.
The Capuchins closed the Friary in 1978 and sold it to the Church of the Brethren, who used it as The Good Shepherd Church. Due to rising utility costs, they in turn put the property up for sale in late 2009 and, in 2010, it was purchased by a foundation headed by Mr. John V. Tippmann, Sr. Since then, due to Mr. Tippmann’s efforts, much work has been done to restore the facility.
It has now been re-named as the Saint Felix Catholic Center.
About the Saint Felix Catholic Center:
With 83 bedrooms and over 30 acres of land, the Friary offers a retreat from our modern, hectic world. Its simple rooms, monastic style chapels and classic Capuchin refectory (dining room) allows a person an immediate experience of peace, serenity and sense of the presence of God.
The Back woods trails connect to the Victory Noll Sister’s nature reserve property which opens up for even more natural beauty.
Groups, small and large, are welcome as are individuals. Use the contact form on their website.
Traveling to the Saint Felix Friary & Retreat Center:
The Friary is located about 20 miles southwest of Fort Wayne, which has a regional airport.
Address: 1280 Hitzfield Street, Huntington, In 46750
GPS coordinates: 40° 53′ 10.4892” N, 85° 30′ 58.5216” W
Tel: +1 (260) 359-9112
Click here for the official website of Saint Felix Retreat Center in Huntington, Indiana