About The Basilica of Saint John in Des Moines, Iowa:
The building dates back to June 7, 1905, when fourteen lots were purchased on University Avenue between 19th Street and Harding Road (now Martin Luther King Blvd.) at a cost of $8,000, under the direction of Rev. Daniel F. Mulvihill. Two additional lots were purchased on July 20, 1905 for $1,375.00.
Being deeply interested in Catholic education, the first building on the property was the present brick school where a large chapel on the second floor was used for a temporary church. The first Mass was celebrated in the partially completed school on Christmas day, 1905. In August, 1913, the basement of the present church was built and services were held there until the upper church was started. The cornerstone for the upper part of the church was laid on September 19, 1926.
On Sunday December 4, 1927 Saint John’s Catholic Church was solemnly dedicated by Most Rev. Thomas W. Drumm, D.D., Bishop of Des Moines. A Solemn Pontifical High Mass was celebrated upon the newly dedicated altar. The present altar of celebration was made in Italy and was consecrated on June 5, 1983.
Built of Indiana Limestone, the church is patterned in the style of the Northern Italian, or Lombardy Romanesque, and resembles the Basilica of Saint Paul’s Outside the Walls of Rome. The architects were from McGinnis and Walsh of Boston, who also designed the National Shrine in Washington D.C. found on the campus of Catholic University. The local architect was John Normile, and the contractor was Charles W. Wietz, both of Des Moines. It has a tile roof and a bronze cross located on top of the bell tower. The interior is finished in plaster cast and Travertine marble, a stone used in all classical Roman structures. Looking up you will see the gold coffered ceiling. All the gold used in the Basilica of Saint John is gold leaf. Just below the ceiling are the clerestory windows. The round form of the building is carried on in the ceiling, as it is in the arches down the length of the nave.
The cost of the structure was $480,000.00 and could not be duplicated today for several million dollars. It has a seating capacity of 900 with a completely equipped parish hall used for social and for educational purposes. The campanile at the northwest corner rises to a height of 115 feet. It houses a 600 pound bronze bell that is operated automatically with a hammer style percussion instrument. A special engraving with the name “Saint Peter-1961” adorns the base of the bell.
Saint John’s Catholic Church was named to the National Registry of Historical Places on September 8, 1987. On December 31, 1989, Most Rev. William H. Bullock, Bishop of Des Moines, presided at the Solemn dedication of the church as a minor basilica.
On the east clerestory windows you will find symbols highlighting the sacraments and cardinal virtues of the Church. On the west clerestory windows you will find symbols highlighting the offices and teachings of humankind. Below the clerestory windows are seven quotations from Scripture which presents the founding or instituting the seven sacraments of the Church. There is also one set of quotes from the Hail Mary prayer. Below the Scripture references are a series of marble disks, symbolizing the Universality of the Catholic Church.
Traveling to The Basilica of Saint John in Des Moines, Iowa:
Address: 1915 University Ave Des Moines, IA 50314
Phone: +1 (515) 244-3101 ext 0
Click here for the official website of The Basilica of Saint John in Des Moines, Iowa



