Home » Annual Feasts and Festivals

Annual Feasts and Festivals

Annual Catholic Feast Days:

We celebrate the Feast Days of individual saints in the Church, but there are also some universal days we celebrate, such as Christmas, Easter, and seasonal feasts.  In most cases the dates of Feast Days are set to a particular date, but sometimes they are movable feast days. A moveable feast is an observance in the liturgical calendar which occurs on different dates in different years.

There are various seasons in the Liturgical year:

We begin the Liturgical Year on the First Sunday of Advent then move to Christmas, Ordinary Time, Lent, Triduum ( or Three Days), Easter, Pentecost and Ordinary Time again, finishing with the feast of Christ the King.

Annual Feast Days in the Liturgical Calendar:

December (movable feast day)  The Catholic year begins with the First Sunday in Advent….four weeks prior to Christmas.

December 25 Christmas

March 25  Feast of the Annunciation

March or April  (Movable feast days) Good Friday, Easter Sunday, and Divine Mercy Sunday

November 21 Feast of the Presentation of the Blessed Virgin Mary

In addition to certain Feast Days in the Liturgical Calendar, there are some traditions with Catholic symbolism that are celebrated around the world.

November 1 & 2  The Day of the Dead in Mexico, U.S.A. and elsewhere.